What type of work can a handyman do legally in Portland, Oregon?
In Oregon, a handyman can work on jobs valued at $1,000. If the job involves construction, the project owner must hire a licensed contractor.
How much can a handyman charge in Portland?
It depends on the job. In Portland, a handyman can charge a minimum of $56 per hour up to $95 per hour.
What plumbing work can be done without a license in Portland?
The homeowner could either hire a licensed plumber or do the work themselves to get the plumbing work done. The state law prohibits plumbers from taking on plumbing jobs without a license. Suppose the homeowner decides to do the work themselves even without a license. In that case, they must know that they should also apply for the permit themselves.
Can I do my own electrical work in Portland, Oregon?
You have to be the owner or the home's occupant to do your own electrical work. You must also apply for electrical permits yourself. Suppose the electrical work has to be done in a house intended for sale, lease, or rent. In that case, only a licensed electrical contractor can do the job.
Do I need a permit to build a deck in Portland, OR?
In Portland, a permit is required to construct or replace a deck if the deck has a roof built over it and if the deck is 30 inches or higher above the ground.